My slowest cycle ever – but in a very good cause!

My younger son is running the Brighton Marathon in early April, raising money for Dementia UK in memory of his grandmother who died last year.

He lives and works in London and was planning to come home (Oxfordshire) for the weekend until he decided to put in a 20 mile training run – so we said he should still come back and I’d plot a route for him locally. In addition, I decided to cycle round with him to keep him company, improve safety and carry food and water.

I missed the club ride this morning but we went out this afternoon and he ended up running a very fine 21 miles in 3hours 14 – very much sub-4hour marathon pace. Excellent running but a bit slow for a cycle ride!

I went out on my 1955 Elswick (rod brakes and 3 speed Sturmey Archer gears) and had a very good time – except for the half hour’s cold rain after about 2 hours, and a continual breeze.

Great job Alex!

Leave a Reply

